Fried Rice

This was my second attempt ever at homemade fried rice. I thought i turned out amazing and had to fight Devin not to eat all of it so I have some for lunch at work tomorrow.1026141800 (1)

What You Need:

  • 2 cups cooked rice (all recipes I found said to use at least day old rice. I plan on using frozen next time I make this)
  • 1/2 cup peas
  • 1/2 cup corn
  • 2 tbsp green onions
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 3 tbsp sesame oil
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp teriyaki sauce
  • 1/2 tsp fish sauce
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp ginger paste

What To Do:

  1. Heat 2 tbsp of sesame oil in pan over medium heat.
  2. Mix soy sauce, teriyaki, fish sauce, sugar, and ginger paster in a bowl.
  3. Mix together peas, corn, green onions, and garlic into pan (I’d add carrots if you have them–I did not). Cook for about 2 minutes until garlic starts to be fragrant.
  4. Lightly beat eggs with remaining sesame oil.
  5. Move all veggies to the side and pour in eggs. Cook eggs most of the way.
  6. Add in rice. Mix well with everything else in the pan.  Toss for a few more minutes.
  7. Pour sauce into pan.  Cook for 2 more minutes to let sauce absorb into the rice. Serve hot.

I served this with my pork sirloin in spicy peanut sauce. It would be good with almost anything though!

Per 1/4 cup serving: serves 8, 165 calories, 9g g fat, 4g protein, 406g sodium, 2g sugar.

Leave a Reply

