Maple Dijon Pork Chops

This turned out pretty delicious.  I brined my bone in pork chops to start with.  I think I’ll begin doing that on a regular basis for most of my meats. It made the biggest difference.

What You Need:

  • 4-6oz pork chops
  • Olive Oil for cooking chops in
  • Brine:
    • Water to cover chops
    • 1/8 cup salt
    • 1/8 cup sugar
    • Bay leaf, garlic cloves, peppercorns, and any other herbs you may want
  • Marinade:
    • 1/2 cup maple syrup
    • 1/2 cup dijon mustard
    • 2 tbsp brown sugar
    • Garlic Powder, Salt, and Pepper to taste

What To Do:

  1. I brined the pork chops for 2 hours in the brine mix in a large glass bowl.  I kept it refrigerated the entire time. Everything I read suggest brining longer, up to 8 hours.
  2. Remove the chops from the brine, rinse of excess seasoning from brine, and pat dry.
  3. Mix all marinade together. I mixed it in a bowl and poured it into a plastic bag.
  4. Marinade the chops for 8 hours if possible. I haven’t tried it but it would probably be good still if only marinaded for a shorter time frame.
  5. Heat oil over medium high heat until just starting to smoke.
  6. Place pork chops into pan. Sear on either side until brown, about 3 minutes.
  7. Once each side has started to brown, pour in remaining marinade. Let cook for a few more minutes until desired “doneness” of the pork chops. We tend to eat ours a little underdone but I cooked these a little longer and they were still tender.
  8. Serve hot with a little bit of the heated marinade over top.

Per pork chop with 1 tbsp of marinade: 258 Calories, 9g fat, 38g protein, 180g sodium, 3g sugar

Leave a Reply

