Kraut Burgers

So this week has been AWFUL weather wise. We had 7 1/2 inches of snow Monday throughout the day.  The main roads weren’t cleared until Tuesday. Wednesday it snowed more.  Thursday was negative temperatures half the day. Friday brought more snow and frozen rain and today its been raining nonstop and our road is flooding.

Since I drive a little Nissan Versa, my car hasn’t been able to go anywhere, including work. Thankfully, my bosses are understanding and I’m able to work from home.  Yesterday I was able to steal my husbands nice big truck with 4 wheel drive and go to the grocery store before too many people were out.

In addition to doing work from home, I’ve had the TV on a lot. I like background noise and the TV suffices for that.  After having watched all the shows waiting on my DVR, I went to my favorite channel–The Food Network.  There was a Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives marathon on yesterday.  One episode featured Kraut Burgers.  They looked AMAZING and I just had to try it out myself. The original recipe is provided here.

krautburgersI did some research and pulled from different online recipes (AllRecipes.com, Dishin & Dishes, and Group Recipes) to create my own version based on what I had on hand.  You can definitely make it your own.  My husband had me put swiss cheese and cheddar cheese into his. He preferred the swiss.  This is something I will definitely make again!

What You Need:

  • 1 lb lean ground beef (mine was 80/20)
  • 1/2 head of green cabbage, diced
  • 1/2 medium white onion, minced
  • 1 package of grands biscuits (I used buttermilk)
  • 1/4 cup white vinegar
  • 1 tbsp black pepper
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp ground dry mustard
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • All purpose flour to help with sticking
  • Cookie sheet
  • Tin Foil
  • Nonstick spray
  • Skillet
  • Rolling Pin (you can use your hands if needed)

What to Do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Heat skillet over medium heat.
  3. Cover cookie sheet with tin foil if you want to expedite cleanup. Spray with cooking spray.
  4. While everything is heating, roll out the grands biscuits.  Flour each side of each biscuit and place on more flour on your counter or cutting board (or any space you want to use–just make sure it’s dry!). Roll biscuit thin and as wide as possible without ripping it apart.  Stack rolled out biscuits to the side with a little bit of flour between each (to keep them from sticking)
  5. Brown ground beef in pan.  Drain excess fat.
  6. Toss cabbage and onion into pan. Let the vegetables cook down for a few minutes.  If you want more than the recipe calls for, feel free to add more.  I’m married to a caveman who requested I only use half.
  7. Add vinegar and other spices. Lower heat and stir occasionally for 3-5 minutes until all the vinegar is absorbed.
  8. Spoon about 1/2 cup of the filling into a flattened biscuit.  Add cheese on top if you want cheese.  Close biscuit by pulling all the corners up and pinching so nothing can get out.  Flatten down to make sure the filling is in all parts of the biscuit.  Flip over onto lined cookie sheet.  Repeat with remaining biscuits.
  9. Cook for 15-20 minutes into oven until browned.  Remove and brush with butter.
  10. Enjoy!

My husband may be obsessed with this recipe.  I’m going to have to test it with other fillers sometime to see what else I can do to make it a little lower in fat since ground beef sometimes makes me feel sick.  I served it with hand cut fries.

Serving size: 1 biscuit, 8 servings, 528 calories, 31g fat, 19g protein, 5 g sugar

2 thoughts on “Kraut Burgers

  1. So glad you tried a favorite family recipe of ours – your adaption sounds interesting! I have yet to try them with other fillings!

    1. Thanks for the inspiration! I am going to have to use your dough recipe next time. I didn’t have any yeast on hand to make it or I would have tried it the other day. I think it’s going to be a family favorite for us too. My husband is convinced I need to make a buffalo chicken filling for it next time.

Leave a Reply

