Liver Cleanse, Day 1

Three years ago, I got my gall bladder removed.  Let me tell you, the first week after that surgery was AWFUL.  You feel terribly sick the first few days and you can’t use your abs at all.  Not being able to use your stomach muscles can irritate  back problems and I spent a good hour on the floor crying, completely incapable of moving, no one home to help, and my phone was out of reach (this was around day 5).  By day 8, I was fine and have a lovely, drunken time at my cousin’s wedding.  They do suggest 2 weeks of recovery and that 2nd week I was definitely tired A LOT.  But I was happy to never have to deal with another gall bladder attack.

Anyone who has ever had a gall bladder issue, whether it just wasn’t working right or you had stones, knows the kind of pain an attack can cause.  I got hospitalized SIX times before the doc finally decided I didn’t have an intestinal infection, I probably had gall stones  (I also went to the Air Force base ER the first 5 times and a civilian ER the 6th, so I’m a little bitter with military doctors).  Of course it was 2 weeks before I graduated college when this happened.  The last 2 weeks of college are WAY too busy to go get your gall bladder taken out.  I was also so fortunate to graduate before you were allowed to be on your parents insurance until you were 26. I ended up managing what I ate for a few years before I was back on my mom’s insurance and able to get it taken out.  I thought I’d never have to deal with that pain again.  I was wrong.

Several times since my surgery, I have had severe stomach pains that felt like a gall bladder attack.  I tried explaining this to the Army doctors I was assigned to.  They thought I just had other stomach issues going on. I got prescribed heartburn medication, had numerous blood tests done, and other, grosser tests.  Everything came back normal.  They wanted to do an endoscopy but between work and my husband getting out of the Army, I opted to not follow up just yet.

51e2uJgO-FL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Fast forward a few months to the civilian world of medicine.  I have a new job with GREAT benefits so I utilized them to see a local doctor.  His first thought was I may have an ulcer. I got checked and was cleared (phew!). But my problem still wasn’t solved. At my follow up appointment, my doctor asked me how adventurous I was.  I told him I’m pretty open to trying different things.  He left the room and came back with this book called “The Liver and Gallbladder Miracle Cleanse” by Andreas Mortiz.  It turns out, your gall bladder can thrown stones into the liver that clog the bile ducts and cause all kinds of issues.  He had several patients use this cleanse with a lot of success.

I’m not going to go into great detail about the cleanse because you really need to read the book to understand everything. It gives you options based on different health factors you may have.  The general idea is you spend 6 days prepping your liver for the cleanse by consuming warm or room temperature food and drink.  It says to avoid animal by products.  You have to drink 32 oz of apple juice per day.  On the 6th day, you fast then drink an epsom salt concoction and a fruit juice/olive oil concoction.  This is supposed to flush the stones from your liver. You have to do it a few times to get everything out according to they book and it suggest to do the cleanse every 6 months or so after that.

There are some great reviews on Amazon for this book.  I’m excited to see the end result, especially considering how miserable I have been feeling the past few days.

Since the prep period says to avoid animal by products, I have opted to go full vegan for this.  Vegan seems to have such a negative reputation.  I have talked to a few friends and family and they all give me weird looks. My husband is convinced I’m going to be feeding him tofu all week.  That was until I got the Thug Kitchen cookbook.  He’s a little more on board now, though still believes he’s going to be ill and maybe die if he doesn’t eat meat. You do not have to eat tofu!  I didn’t buy anything with tofu at all. I pretty much just bought veggies and grains.

20150810_094452I did a lot of food prep this weekend. I made a trip to Traders Joe’s for some specialty items then finished stocking up at Kroger.  The one near me has an ABSURD amount of vegan/vegetarian/gluten free stuff. It was amazing.  I bought just about everything in the produce section. I love veggies anyways, so this wasn’t a huge change for me.  I’m a foodie and have an absurd amount of other stuff at home so we didn’t spend much time anywhere else.  I search for apple juice was difficult. I ended up going to BJ’s and bought it in bulk.

I spent Saturday & Sunday food prepping.  I found an awesome Buzzfeed article linked on pinterest with breakfast items. I’m a terrible morning person and needed something quick & easy. I settled for Oatmeal Waffles from the Post Punk Kitchen.  The original recipe calls for blueberries, but I decided to leave them out and just top them with some fresh blueberries and bananas.  I made a big batch and just froze them to pop in the toaster in the morning.  I have some apple cinnamon quinoa (courtesy of Healthy Ala Mode) prepped as well as some steel cut oatmeal I can make over night oats with.

I made mass amounts of sweet potato black bean burgers (recipe thanks to the minimalist baker) for my lunch for the week.  I made these before with the whiskey ketchup and they are THE BOMB.  I ended up skipping on that this time since alcohol (even cooked) probably isn’t the best idea to go along with a liver cleanse.  I did the potatoes in the crock pot. I stabbed them with a fork, drizzled olive oil and a little sea salt on them, set the crock pot to high and BAM!, 3 hours later they were super soft. If you ever need to batch cook potatoes and do not want to peel, slice, and dice, this is the way to go. You just cut them in half and scoop the insides out after!

Dinner tonight is stuffed peppers. Hubby is making them since I’m going to the gym.  I have some lovely Dang Coconut Chips as a snack. I’m trying to do this the right way!  I’m not sure if vegan is totally for me (mainly because I love cheese), but this week will be an awesome adventure!

One thought on “Liver Cleanse, Day 1

Leave a Reply

