French Baguette

So I’m a big fan of baguettes. I worked at Panera my senior year of college and it just solidified my love of bread.  I’ve attempted bread once before and It did not turn out pretty. It was dense and disgusting. I was really hesistant to try my hand at bread again. Most recipes call for a mixer with a bread attachment and that is one appliance I haven’t invest in yet. My mom has 2 but is unwilling to part with either (mom if you’re reading this I do have a kitchen now *hint*hint*).

For those who haven’t made bread before, it takes patience. I lack patience in most things but I developed just enough to make this last night!  I got my recipe here and I’m going to just copy the instructions below.

What You Need:

  • 1 packet dry active yeast
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 3 1/2 to 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • Canola Oil, for greasing bowl
  • More flour for dusting

What To Do According to Food.com:

  1. Place the yeast, honey and warm water in a large bowl and let stand until foamy, about 5 minutes.
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk together the salt and the flour. Use a wooden spoon to stir 2 cups of the flour mixture into the yeast mixture; stir in the remaining flour mixture (dough will be stiff).
  3. Turn out onto a lightly floured work surface. Knead with floured hands until dough is smooth and elastic, about 5-7 minutes. Add a little flour, 1 tablespoon at a time as necessary, to prevent dough from sticking.
  4. Place in an oiled bowl, turning once to coat. Cover with plastic wrap (or a clean kitchen towel) and leave to rise until doubled in bulk, about 1 1/2 hours.
  5. Preheat oven to 400F degrees.
  6. Gently punch dough down to deflate it and shape into two oblong baguettes. Dust tops lightly with flour and place on a lightly greased baking sheet; let rise uncovered for 30 minutes.
  7. Use a serrated knife to cut 3-5 small diagonal slits across the tops of the baguettes, and lightly sprinkle with cool water.
  8. Bake in the middle of oven for 25-30 minutes, until golden. Transfer to a rack to cool.

I served mine with this cilantro pesto minus the Parmesan cheese.

One thought on “French Baguette

Leave a Reply

