Vegan Mexican Stuffed Green Peppers

Stuffed Green Peppers was my way of easing my husband into eating a vegan meal with me.  He hasn’t totally jumped on board with doing the entire cleanse I’m on, but he’s supportive at least.  He ate left over pizza at work so I didn’t have to see. I really just threw this one together. And I did nab a photo because my clumsy self dropped them off the over rack and all over the door so they weren’t very photogenic.

What You Need:

  • 4 Green Peppers
  • 3/4 cup cooked rice (I used white because I forgot to buy brown)
  • 3/4 cup cooked black beans (you can use frozen, fresh or canned)
  • 1/4 cup onions, diced
  • 1/4 cup mushrooms, diced
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup vegan cheese (I used a mexi blend)
  • Cumin, to taste
  • Chili Powder, to taste
  • Salt, to taste
  • Pepper, to taste
  • 1 big pot of water

What To Do:

  1. Make the rice and beans first if you are making those from scratch. Set aside once done.
  2. Put the pot of water on the stove and start to boil. Heat another sautee pan over medium-high heat. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  3. Cut the tops off the green peppers and remove all seeds. Dice all other vegetables if they are not already diced.
  4. Add coconut oil to pan.  Once it has heated, add mushrooms and onions.  Cook until starting to brown.  I tossed in the tomato as well towards the end.  This isn’t necessary.  When done, set aside in medium sized mixing bowl.
  5. Once big pot of water is boiling, turn down heat to medium and submerge the green peppers in the water.  Let cook for 5 minutes until softened.
  6. While the peppers cook, mix together rice, beans, veggies, and seasonings. Mix in 1/2 the cheese.
  7. Drain the peppers.  Place on foiled lined pan or sheet.
  8. Fill peppers with mix.  Top with remaining cheese.
  9. Bake in the oven for 10 minutes, or until cheese is melted. If you rice or beans were cold, make sure those are heated through.

Voila!

Serves 4: 187 calories per pepper, 6g fat, 8g protein (per My Fitness Pal)

One thought on “Vegan Mexican Stuffed Green Peppers

Leave a Reply

