My Whole30

Diets are the devil. Well, starting them is. You go through basically the stages of grief. I’m only on day 2 of Whole30 and I was thinking to myself, “maybe if I mostly stick to it and get myself adjusted then really go on it….” No. Just no you internal sugar and carb demon. We got this. There will be no more bargaining.

Since I forgot to post that I was even doing this, let me explain a few things. Haven’t heard of Whole30? It’s fine. I didn’t know much about it other than tons of military wives on the White Walls pages and my friends list had gone on it. In a nutshell, the Whole30 is an elimination diet intended to help you figure out what food triggers different health issues while, as they refer to it, you exercise the sugar demon. Buy the book. Its a necessity. Don’t just read the blog or other ones, BUY THE DAGGUM BOOK!

So what exactly is eliminated? Sugar is #1. And there’s for serious sugar in EVERYTHING. You have to check every single label for some form of added sugar, whether it be fake, raw, all natural, whatever. That means no honey or stevia. The only sugar you can have is in fruits and other approved items they occur in naturally. You have to keep and eye out for any additives with -ose at the end too. Fructose, dextrose, etc. Alcohol falls into sugars too. Bye bye wine. You’re a dear friend; I’ll be back for you on day 31.

Item #2 you have to eliminate is soy. Yet again, it’s in EVERYTHING. Even if you read the ingredients, look for that little note that says “may contain.” it almost got me.

Other items eliminated include grains, gluten, legumes, dairy, and basically additives of any sort. There are a few that are approved, but not many. There’s more that’s eliminated, but you need to get the book for a full breakdown. DO IT!

Much to my surprise, my husband is doing this with me. He’s not felt great about himself so I’m hoping this helps.  More later!

Leave a Reply

