Pineapple Coconut Cauliflower Rice {Whole30}

IMG_20160216_192043I’ve grown to be a fan of cauliflower over the past year or so.  I was a kind of picky kid (i still ate salads but it had to be lettuce, carrots, cheese and ranch for years) whose tastes evolved but some items too longer to catch on than others.  Cauliflower is one of those. I’ve made cauliflower mashed potatoes, mashed cauliflower, and cauliflower rice. I’ve even gone so far as to roast it in the oven.  Still can’t do raw but I’ve just grown into broccoli raw. I’ll give that some more time.

I was in an Asian mood for dinner last night. I made some Thai Red Curry Chicken Thighs (pictured with the rice) and needed a side. Thanks to this blog by Melissa Joulwan, I was inspired to create my own version of pineapple cauliflower rice.

What You Need:

  • 1 head cauliflower
  • 1/2 can of coconut milk
  • 1/2 can of pineapple tidbits (in juice with no added sugar)
  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tbsp ghee, melted
  • 2 tbsp thinly sliced scallions
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Food Processor
  • Baking Sheet

What To Do:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Break cauliflower into smaller pieces and toss into a food processor.  You can pulse until it looks like rice. My blog inspiration suggests 10-15 pulses.  I put it on the 2nd lowest setting (I have the ninja system) until everything looked done.
  3. If you have space in your food processor, remove the blade and toss everything else in there. If not, mix it all in a bowl.
  4. Line a baking sheet with tin foil or parchment paper.  (Be careful with the final oven step if you use parchment paper. I’ve set mine on fire before. I did use parchment paper last night.) Pour mixture on to sheet and smooth out into thin layer.
  5. Roast in oven for 18 minutes.
  6. For the final 2 minutes, turn oven on high broil and allow it to get a little crisp.

Voila!  I threw some of the red curry sauce on top but my hubby ate it as is.

Serving 6: 113 Calories, 9g fat, 3g protein, 7g carbs

This is Whole30 compliant!

3 thoughts on “Pineapple Coconut Cauliflower Rice {Whole30}

Leave a Reply

