Whole30 Week 1

So week 1 has finished.  I started blogging on Day 2 of Week 1 so you’ve had some details.  I wanted to fill it in more about this journey.

I wanted to do Whole30 to just do an entire dietary overhaul. I’ve been eating better over the past few years but I will go through phases where I basically will eat all the junk food in sight.  I’ve been craving donuts and literally ate an entire bag of Krispy Kreme Kruellers the other week. Even with going to the gym consistently, I couldn’t lose any weight with the way I’ve been eating. I had wicked heartburn any time I forgot to take my medicine.  Eating too much dairy made me want to vomit. If I didn’t eat enough I wanted to vomit. On top of all of that, I would like to be pregnant in the next year but I want to be in better shape first and the best health possible for my future child.

In addition to my health concerns, I was concerned for my husbands health. He has high blood pressure, asthma, his weight has been all over the place, he doesn’t sleep, and the list goes on.  Nearly half the list of issues that Whole30 is supposed to help with, he’s had problems with at some point.  He, like me, tends to emotional/stress eat and loves snack food. I knew Whole30 could make a big difference for us.

I spent Sunday prepping (got 10,000 steps on my fitbit before 3pm that day just moving around in the kitchen.) I was always told to start diets on Mondays and it makes sense to me. Monday happened to be a snow/ice day to so I could really see how I could commit to this. Below is what I ate and how I was feeling each day.

Day 1, MONDAY

IMG_20160215_085810Breakfast: Spinach Fritatta recipe from the book. This was SO good.I couldn’t quite eat my entire half of it.

Snack: Some sliced strawberries

Lunch: Mason Jar Salad with Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar, Romaine Lettuce, Arugula, Tomato, Onion, Carrots, and Hardboiled Egg. Canned Chicken with Whole30 Buffalo Sauce and Whole30 Ranch served on a piece of romaine lettuce.

IMG_20160217_115630Snack: A hardboiled egg and ginger kombucha tea

Dinner: Green peppers stuff with ground beef, onion, sweet potato, rotel tomatoes and green chilis, and topped with a nacho “cheese” sauce.

We went to the gym for about an hour once the snow had cleared up and turned to rain.  I did 20 minutes of HITT cardio, 5 minutes of a cool down, 30 minutes of weight lifting, and 5 minutes of stretching.

I felt great at the end of the day.  I took some melatonin before going to bed and fell right to sleep.

Day 2, TUESDAY

Lunch FajitasBreakfast: Blueberry, mango, banana, spinach and coconut milk smoothie.

Snack: 2 hard boiled eggs

 

Lunch: Raw Almonds and a few bites of chicken fajitas

Snack: Strawberries and celeryIMG_20160216_192043

Dinner: Red Curry chicken with pineapple coconut cauliflower “fried rice”

I felt AWFUL this day. I think it was the carb flu. I woke up nauseous. I made the smoothie just to try to get something in my system. I know we’re not supposed to eat smoothies, but it was a get me through necessity. I think I may have some issues with green peppers (and peppers in general) because the small in my fajitas was making me feel worse. I took a bite and almost threw up. Opted for my snacks instead. I usually go to a class called POUND on Tuesdays but my energy level was so low and I hadn’t eaten much I didn’t want to pass out. I passed on the gym much to my dismay. I started feeling better once I started cooking dinner. Thankfully I was able to keep all that down.

Don’t go to the grocery store on Day 2.  I ran to kroger to grab some lara bars and almost caved.  I had spent the whole ride home wondering if I should even continue down this road and if it was worth it.  Yes it is.

Day 3, WEDNESDAY

IMG_20160217_074554Breakfast: 2 Poached Eggs over a bed of argula, seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic powder, topped with prosciutto and some lemon juice (this was freaking amazing btw)

Snack: Raw Almonds and Kombucha Green TeaIMG_20160217_125917

Lunch: CHIPOTLE!  Romaine lettuce, carnitas, the basic tomato salsa, and guac. It was perfect.

Snack: GT’s Synergy Gingerberry Kombucha Tea

Dinner: Hubby was in charge of dinner tonight.  He made pan seared pork chops, sliced and roasted sweet potatoes, and his personal favorite, asparagus wrapped in prosciutto. He did good.

I woke up feeling good this morning. I didn’t feel like I slept great but I haven’t slept great in a while. The thought of eggs for breakfast didn’t make me want to vomit. I had a ton of energy at the gym and made it through 10 minutes on the stair stepper plus 25 minutes on the elliptical. I also was not remotely tired that night. Around 11 I finally took some melatonin to try to calm myself down.

Day 4, THURSDAY

IMG_20160218_184158Breakfast: Fruit! Pineapple and orange.

Snack: Almonds

Lunch: More almonds

Snack: Hard boiled egg white

Dinner: Balsamic London Broil with Balsamic Zucchini Noodles

I was SUPER queasy all day. I had zero appetite.  Feeling this way I decided I needed to look and see if anyone else had these issues. Someone suggested to drink water in the morning so I will try that method out. I didn’t make it to the gym because I was worried I might pass out.  As soon as I started making dinner I was STARVING. The london broil probably could have fed 3 people but I at the portions of two. Oops. Of course since I don’t have a gall bladder, my guts hated me later.  So I do not suggest doing that! It was really delicious though.  My energy level has been up all day though. I had trouble falling asleep again.

Day 5, Friday

Breakfast: Poached eggs, arugula, prosciutto combo again (this may become my go to)

Snack: Almonds

Lunch: Leftover pineapple cauliflower “rice”

Snack: Pineapple

Dinner: Walnut Crusted Pork Loin (from the book) with Balsamic Vinaigrette (from the book) with Grilled Balsamic Zucchini (I used homemade Italian seasoning mix)

I woke up a little groggy but felt energized pretty quickly. I drank water right when I got up and was able to eat breakfast with no problem.  I ate all of my lunch and felt great. I’ve been bad about drinking water lately so I brought my bigger water bottle to keep me more accountable.  It definitely motivated me to drink more today. I was so fortunate to get the wonderful side effects from eating all the london broil last night. Again, if you don’t have a gallbladder, don’t eat too much meat at once. It’s just a BAD idea. I felt great the rest of the day though!

Day 6, Saturday

Breakfast: Lara Bar and 1 eggs with spinach

Snack: 2 Poached Eggs with Prosciutto & Whole30 Hollandaise sauce

0220161912Lunch: Beef Ribs with Whole30 Tangy BBQ Sauce, Balsamic Brussel Sprouts, and Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Snack: 1/2 Lara Bar and homemade beef jerky

Dinner: Paleo Swedish Meatballs

I felt great all day besides getting crabby when I got hungry.  We spent most of the day at my moms.  She is also doing the diet.  We are in an apartment so our smoker is over there. Hubby wanted to make some deer jerky.  I marinated some beef for him to make into jerky.  He burnt one batch 😦 but the other turned out well.  The beef ribs were kind of terrible. I’m not a fan of the tangy bbq sauce, though it may have been better had we had all the correct ingredients.  Dinner was purely meatballs.  We went to see Deadpool with some friends and were stuffing our faces before running out the door.  My husband wasn’t happy with me. He referred to movie theater popcorn as “catnip” for him and it was a major test for him. He did it though!

Day 7, Sunday

0221161129Breakfast: Hashbrowns fried in Coconut Oil, 2 Fried Eggs, topped with organic ketchup

Snack: Grapes

Lunch:  Homemade Sweet Potato Chips (thank you minimalist baker, you always have such good recipes!)

Snack: More Chips (I spent the day making them for my hubby and kept munching on them)

Dinner: Balsamic London Broil, Roasted Butternut Squash, and Steamed Broccoli

Breakfast was really more lunch today. We ate at 11:15. I went to the grocery store this morning after waking up at 8:45.  Some how my dogs let me sleep in so I just accepted it.I felt great all day. I spent most of the day doing some prepping for the week so I’ll have lunch at work. Needless to say I’m exhausted.

Week 1 Synopsis

How I’m feeling overall this week is great.  My heartburn hasn’t made an appearance since Wednesday. I stopped taking my Nexium (which my insurance no longer covers so YAY!).  I feel more rested but according to my fitbit, I’m not any less restless than normal at night.  My skin on my face is doing some weird stuff but that’s more than likely due to me falling asleep with make up still on. I could still kill for a glass of wine but I haven’t been hungry.  I occasionally want something sweet but an apple or orange does the trick.

Since I’m not the only one in my house on this journey, here’s a little update about my husband. He hasn’t had heartburn all week either besides when he ate buffalo sauce and it only lasted about 30 minutes. He’s had a single migraine.  He only had a small headache towards the beginning of the week he blames on coming off the sugar. He has a fitbit surge and has been monitor his heart rate somewhat. It spiked the first half of the week but has started to go down.  He seems to be sleeping more as well. He usually averages about 4 hours (he has sleep apnea in addition to some other issues) and is averaging closer to 5.  I also noticed he’s not snoring as much.

On to week two!

Leave a Reply

